Peter Sagan at the Giro d’Italia 2020 – results of the 15th stage


                        today 16:50
                        <span class="">|</span></span>

                    British cyclist Tao Geoghegan Hart triumphed in Sunday's 15th stage of the Giro d'Italia cycling race.  On the challenging 185 km long mountain track from Aerea Rivolto, the rider of the Ineos Grenadiers team climbed to the Piancavallo ski resort in the finish of the three-member group two seconds ahead of the Dutchman Wilce Kelderman and four ahead of the Australian Jay Hindley (both Sunweb).
                </p><div id="remaining-article"><p>Portuguese Joao Almeida from Deceuninck QuickStep took fourth place with a deficit of 37 seconds and kept the pink jersey of the leader of the overall classification 15 seconds ahead of Kelderman.  Hart moved to third position.</p><div class="embed-wrapper video-embed"><p></p><span class="delimiter-horizontal"/></div><p><strong>Sprinters, including the Slovak representative Petr Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe), did not take part in the fight for the leading positions and points for bonuses on Sunday, so Arnaud Démare still has 221 points at the head of the scoring competition, the second Sagan has collected 184 so far.</strong>

Hart won his premier triumph at the Grand Tour events: “It’s a huge success for me. Overall, I lost a lot in the opening part of the Gira, so I really wanted to win a stage. Today it worked out and it’s great.”

Before the day off, the riders first had three hills of the second category and finally a 14.5 km long ascent to Piancavallo (7.8%). The program of the stage also included two speed bonuses. Juan Molano (UAE Emirates) did not continue the race and later Gianluca Brambilla from Trek-Segafredo had to resign due to knee pain, so Vincenzo Nibali lost another important helper in the hills.

Twelve riders broke away from the peloton after less than ten kilometers. It included Matthew Holmes, Tomas de Gendt (both Lotto-Soudal), Davide Villella (Movistar), Mark Padun (Bahrain-McLaren), Daniel Navarro (Israel Start-Up), Andrea Vendrame (Ag2r), Manuele Boaro (Astana) , Rohan Dennis (Ineos), Giovanni Visconti, Edoardo Zardini (both Vini Zabú), Luca Chirico (Androni Giocattoli) and Nathan Haas (Cofidis). The escape gradually gained a lead of almost seven minutes and gradually collected points on mountain and speed bonuses.

Visconti scored the first mountain at the top of Sella Chianzutan (10.6 km, 5.4%) and virtually dressed in a blue jersey for the best climber, as the former leader Ruben Guerreiro could not get into the escaping group and later did not even try to catch up. to her. At that time, 10 riders were already in charge. The Sunweb and NTT teams set the pace in the peloton, but the shortfall was still at the level of six minutes.

Vendrame won the speed bonus after the first hill. Visconti scored the full 18 points even after climbing the second mountain bonus at Forcella Di Monte Rest. (7.4 km, 7.5%). The leak lead in front of the peloton decreased to less than four minutes. At that time, Sagan also performed the peloton together with other sprinters, and their task remained to reach the finish line within the time limit.

members of the Italian aerobatic group Frecce Tricolori demonstrate their skills over the peloton of cyclists before the start of the 15th stage of the Giro d’Italia

Source: TASR

Before the second sprint bonus 50 km before the finish line, the leading group began to split, with Visconti, De Gendt and Dennis ahead. De Gendt was first at the bonus, Visconti began to lag behind the Pala Barzan, and Dennis took over, gaining more than a half-minute lead over De Gendt. The Australian triumphed in the third mountain bonus, Visconti scored six points as the third. Dennis still had more than three minutes to go before the peloton, followed by De Gendt, Visconti, Samitier, Villella and Vendrame together.

At the beginning of the final ascent of the first category on Piancavallo to a height of 1290 m above sea level, Rohan was only about a minute ahead of the main field, which was fast approaching and it was clear that the winner would not emerge from the escape of the day. In particular, the Dutch Sunweb worked ahead in an effort to tire the “pink” Almeida, but it stuck with the best.

However, the peloton of favorites tore, for example, NTT leader Domenico Pozzovivo lost and Nibali, Jakob Fuglsang from Astana and Pello Bilbao from McLaren also had problems. The trio of Kelderman, Hindley and Hart (Ineos) remained in front, Almeida gradually lost on them, but in the end he managed to keep the leader’s jersey. Hart had the most strength in the finish. Nibali, Knox, Fuglsang and Bilbao lost almost two minutes.

Výsledky 15. etapy (Rivolto – Piancavallo area, 185 km):

1. Tao Geoghegan Hart (V.Brit./Ineos Grenadiers) 4:58:52 h

2. Wilco Kelderman (Hol./Team Sunweb) +2

3. Jai Hindley (Austr./Team Sunweb) +4

4. Joao Almeida (English / Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +37

5. Rafal Majka (POL / Bora-Hansgrohe) +1: 22

6. Patrick Konrad (Rak./Bora-Hansgrohe) +1: 29

7. James Knox (V.Brit./Deceuninck-Quick-Step)

8. Pello Bilbao (Sp. / Bahrain McLaren)

9. Jakob Fuglsang (Dan / Astana Pro Team)

10. Vincenzo Nibali (Tal./Trek-Segafredo) all +1: 36

Overall ranking after the 15th stage:

1. Almeida 59:27:38 h

2. Kelderman +15

3. Hindley +2:56

4. Hart +2:57

5. Bilbao +3:10

6. Mother +3: 18

7. Nibali +3: 29

8. Domenico Pozzovivo (Tal./NTT Pro Cycling) +3: 50

9. Konrad +4:09

10. Faust Masnada (Tal./Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +4: 12

scoring competition:

1. Arnaud Demare (Fr./Groupama-FDJ) 221 b.

2. Peter SAGAN (SR/Bora-Hansgrohe) 184

3. Almeida 90

mountaineering competition:

1. Giovanni Visconti (Tal./Vini Zabu) 118 b

2. Ruben Guerreiro (Portug./EF Pro Cycling) 87

3. Filippo Ganna (Tal./Ineos Grenadiers) 48

17. SAGAN 15


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here