Van der Poel’s first monument; Alaphilippe collided with the engine


By the 80s, as many as eight great classics
Early on, the most resounding one-day races gained a special reputation. The winners enjoyed a reputation and stood side by side with the winners of the three-week races. As before, there was no great uniformity in cycling, but by the 1980s they had formed a list of eight classics. In addition to the current five major races, they also made up the top eight Pariz-Tours, Paris-Brussels in Walloon arrow. The first two races (according to the taste of the sprinters) got into trouble due to financial problems and logistical headaches, arrow however, she pulled short in the Ardennes duel with LBL.Belgian trio with all the victories
There are five classics left, which have been nicknamed for almost a century of history monuments. Each has its own laws and characteristics, due to the specialization there is almost no cyclist who would be physically able to win all five. The last to have that option is a Belgian veteran Philippe Gilbert, which is missing a sprint monument in Sanremo. All three races were won by only three big Belgians: Eddy Merckx (19 monuments in 1966-1976), Roger de Vlaeminck (11 wins 1970-1979) and Rick Van Looy (8 wins 1958-1965). The latter also won the aforementioned three classics, while the best in the history of monuments ran out of success at the Paris-Tours.

Name, nickname and usual term:
Milan – San Remo
(Primavera = spring classic) in the middle of March;
Race through Flanders (De Ronde = the most beautiful Flemish) in early April;
Paris – Roubaix (Hell of the North = severni pekel), mid-April;
Liège – Bastogne – Liège (The dean = the oldest), The end of april;
After Lombardy (Classical of dead leaves = klasika odpadlega listja), end of October.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here