VIDEO The world champion did not find a conqueror in the time trial again, Sagan did not spare in the fight for points


Filippo Ganna
Filippo Ganna

VALDOBBIADENE – Italian Filippo Ganna from Ineos-Grenadiers won Saturday’s 14th stage of the Giro d’Italia cycling race, which was an individual time trial for 34.1 km from Conegliano to Valdobbiadene. Slovak cyclist Peter Sagan took 47th place with a deficit of 4:39 min.

The reigning world champion set a time of 42:40 minutes in the individual time trial and scored his third victory at the event. The first came for him in the 1st stage, which was an individual time trial for 15.1 km. The second was born after the escape in the 5th stage. The second place champion in the time trial from 2018 and 2019 and the teammate of Gann, the Australian Rohan Dennis, finished in second place on Saturday with a gap of 26 seconds. The third place belonged to the American Brandon McNulty from the UAE Emirates team (+1: 09).

Sagan didn’t skimp, as there were points in the game for the cyclamen jersey competition. He performed well in the fight against the chronometer, but in the end he did not get any points. However, the same goes for his direct competitor in the scoring competition, the Frenchman Arnaud Demare, who finished 50th when he was eight seconds worse than Sagan.

The second time trial of the 103rd Gira d’Italia had a more demanding profile than the first. Shortly after the start, cyclists waited for the ascent to Muro di Ca del Poggio, which had 1.1 km and an average slope of 11.8 percent. There was a mountain premium of the fourth category. From a height of 238 meters above sea level, the riders continued through the undulating terrain and just before the finish they had an as yet unscored ascent to San Pedro di Barbozza, which is located at a height of 324 meters above sea level.

Ganna has been leading the time trial since the beginning. After the first split, which was on the mountain premium, he was ahead of Dennis by a second. Halfway through, he had a five-second lead over his teammate, but it became clear that Dennis would be his only serious opponent. In the third half, the Italian had a comfortable lead of 18 seconds. “Every victory counts. We have a very strong team on the Gire, we win and we are very satisfied. I entered the first climb with great intensity and then I just had to keep up the pace until the finish. Of course, the final time trial in Milan interests me, I will have to to somehow save forces in the mountains, ” said the winner of the stage at the finish.

From the actors of the fight for the overall championship, the best man in pink was the best, the Portuguese Joao Almeida from Deceuninck lost the winner to the winner 1:31 min and took the sixth place. Overall, the second Dutchman Wilco Kelderman from Sunweb recorded 16 seconds worse time and 9th position, Pello Bilbao from Bahrain McLaren lost a minute to Almeida and 22 seconds and finished in 22nd place.

Results of the 14th stage (Conegliano – Valdobbiadene, 34.1 km):
1. Filippo Ganna (Tal./Ineos Grenadiers) 42:40 min, 2. Rohan Dennis (Aus./Ineos Grenadiers) +26 s, 3. Brandon McNulty (USA / SAE Emirates) +1: 09 min, 4. Thomas De Gendt (Belg./Lotto Soudal) +1: 11, 5. Josef Černý (ČR / CCC) +1: 16, 6. Joao Almeida (Portug./Deceuninck-Quickstep) +1: 31, 7. Tanel Kangert ( Est./Education First) +1: 33, 8. Jonathan Castroviejo (Šp. / Ineos Grenadiers) +1: 44, 9. Wilco Kelderman (Hol./Sunweb) +1: 47, 10. Jan Tratnik (Slovin./ Bahrain Merida) +2: 00, … 47. Peter SAGAN (SR / Bora-Hansgrohe) +4: 39

overall ranking: 1. Almeida 54:28:09 h, 2. Kelderman +56 s, 3. Bilbao +2: 11 min, 4. McNulty +2: 23, 5. Vincenzi Nibali (Tal./Trek-Sefagredo) +2: 30 , 6. Rafal Majka (Poland / Bora-Hansgrohe), 7. Domenico Pozzovivo (Tal./NTT) both +2: 33, 8. Fausto Masnada (Tal./Deceuninck Qucickstep) +3: 11, 9. Patrick Konrad (Rak./Bora-Hansgrohe) +3: 17, 10. Jai Hindley (Aus./Sunweb) +3: 33, … 70. SAGAN +1: 33: 22 h

scoring competition: 1. Arnaud Demare (Fr./Groupama-FDJ) 221 points, 2. SAGAN 184, 3. Almeida 83

mountaineering competition: 1. Ruben Guerreiro (Portug./EF Pro Cycling) 87 points, 2. Giovanni Visconti (Tal./Vini Zabu) 76, 3. Ganna 48, … 14. SAGAN 15

Tags: Peter Sagan Giro d’Italia Filippo Ganna

SITA / AP / Gian Mattia D’Alberto / LaPresse; Video: Youtube


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here